The Stained Glass Windows
The beautiful stained glass windows were designed and manufactured by H. Horwood and Sons of Prescott, Ontario and Ogdensburg, New York. They were completed sometime after the fire of 1892.
By 1895, the Horwood business was well established and was mentioned in the 1895 business directory as having a branch office in Ottawa.
The main shop was on Dibble Street. It is believed that the Horwoods resided in New Wexford in a home located on Highway 2 that still features a beautiful stained glass transom – a testament to their art.
Other remaining examples of the Horwood craftsmanship include: two memorial windows at St. John’s Anglican Church, one window at the Blue Church (whereat many of the Horwood family are buried), one window removed from the Wiser Building (completed in 1883) now in Upper Canada Village, and two windows made for the World’s Fair now on display at the Museum of History and Technology, Smithsonian Institute, Washington D.C.